The Gimmicky Games We Play

Can we stop making every product in the world “concentrated?” I get it; your product is stronger, now – thus increasing the amount of uses or washes, or whatever – which is the foundation of your little marketing strategy to increase consumer value. Except you’ve put it in a smaller bottle. And upped the price. AND my washer is also high efficiency. So now I have to put the smallest amount of detergent inside the smallest tray imaginable – which starts to feel a liiiiiittle bit like a lab experiment. “This must be what it feels like to be on CSI,” I’m thinking as I pour meticulously and focus on my breathing to avoid overflow. “All I’m missing is some rubber gloves and a microscope. Or maybe one of those tubular droppers they use for blood testing. Actually, that might be a grea-”  Boom. Awesome. Lab sample’s contaminated. Drowning in solution. Because I did what I always do, which is space off to something more exciting during a really tedious task and forget what I’m actually doing… because I don’t care.

So I consistently pay more for high efficiency ultra concentrated super convoluted wash product – and then pour it like it’s a vodka sponsor at the open bar at Pure Nightclub.

Wait…why am I even doing my own laundry, still?

The worst part is that means the high priced marketing gimmick is effectively improving the corporation’s bottom line.

Ahhh…the wicked webs we weave.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

